Fresh bill seeks creation of three states

A House of Representatives bill, sponsored by Oluwole Oke representing Obokun/Oriade Federal Constituency, Osun State, proposes the creation of three additional states in the South-West: Oke-Ogun, Ijebu, and Ife-Ijesa.

Titled “A Bill for an Act to amend the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended),” it aims to amend the First Schedule, Part I of the Constitution by introducing new states and adjusting the number of local government areas.

The proposed Oke-Ogun State, with Iseyin as its capital, is envisioned to consist of 12 local government areas.

Related Articles

On the other hand, Ijebu State, when created, will comprise Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North and Sagamu LGAs. The proposed capital city for Ijebu State is Ijebu Ode.

According to Oke, who chairs the House Committee on Judiciary, Ife Ijesa State is to be made of 11 LGAs made up of Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Oboku and Oriade.

In a letter dated February 6, 2024, and addressed to the Clerk of the House, Oke wrote: “I wish to forward the abovementioned bill to your office for further necessary legislative action to enable me to move same in our great Green Chamber, sir.”

The South-West geo-political zone is currently made up of six federating states, which are Ondo, Oyo, Lagos, Ogun, Osun and Ekiti states.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Allow ads or disable ads blocker on you browser